Simple Use

“Aha. My analogue wonderland package has arrived”, or so I thought.

No, this was not what I had ordered. This was actually a parcel from Sandeep (@Givemeabiscuit on Twitter). He had been kindly gifted a Lomography Simple Use camera (a reusable-disposable one) with a roll of film by Paul from Analogue Wonderland to help him regain his photo mojo. As he was done with his roll, he was paying it forward to me.

(See Sandeep’s blog post on his roll here)

Firstly, if you haven’t noticed, check out that colour coordination! That is some purple-pink goodness. The Hi-Chews were delicious and lasted a very short amount of time. After that, I loaded up the camera and kept it on me for most journeys (those daily lockdown exercise trips) for the next few weeks.

Sandeep had tasked me with shooting the roll on the theme of minimalism. I attempted this but it turns out the camera isn’t too suited to the theme (maybe I wasn’t very good at it either – a bad workman always blames his blah blah).

The film was Kentmere 400 and I pushed it in development (so I could develop it with Kodak P3200 at the same time). It did surprisingly well from being pushed. A bit grainy but highlights are still good! So, here are the images. I am sharing the ones closest to the theme first.

I like the results. It’s a great experiment to use such a cheap camera with pretty much no settings. I have another one but never developed the film for it. I must get round to using it a bit more.

And finally, here is the camera making its onward journey to Tom Rayfield.

One thought on “Simple Use

Leave a comment